Kung Fu Panda 2

Okay, so I went to see Kung Fu Panda 2 last night and I have some things to say about it.

1) The writers tried to make it epic….like a Jet Li movie for kids and a fluffy panda….I don’t think it went well over my head personally, but I don’t think many kids would know the difference.

2) Tigress is a BaD***. She said that she punched iron trees for twenty years so now she’s a tank. They showed that quite well in the film. Two thumbs up for feminists.

3) Themes that were in this film were: inner peace and the power of the present. To defeat the antagonist, Po had to find inner peace…I won’t explain why…And the other central theme is the concept of the power of the present. Essentially, it doesn’t matter who your parent were, what you’ve done with your past, what is foretold in your future, what matters is what you will do with right now.

The second theme, is a great theme for anyone to think about in his or her life. I applaud writers who skillfully wrapped this theme into the plot to tell children to reach for the stars regardless of everything and everybody else.

As you can tell, my feelings are mixed, but overall, I understood the central message, and I find that’s what is most important.

Thanks for reading,

Ariel Ceylan

Leave a Reply

